Galleries

  • The characters of Pumpkinfest 2021

    Tue, 10/19/2021 - 8:00am

    A Peanuts Halloween, The Hulk, Bilbo Baggins’ hobbit house complete with a miniature, framed print of Wyeth’s “Christina’s World”; a towering witch with her ghosts, an elephant head, an unusual hol

  • Wolverines-Seahawks girls soccer drops match 2-1 in OT

    Mon, 10/18/2021 - 3:00pm

    The Wiscasset Middle High School and Boothbay Region High School combined girls soccer team lost 2-1 in overtime to Spruce Mountain High School Oct. 13.

  • Boothbay Fire Department opens doors to BRES students

    Sat, 10/16/2021 - 8:45am

    Chief Richard Spofford and members of Boothbay Volunteer Fire Department opened the fire house doors on Friday, Oct.

  • Fall Foliage Festival fun 2021

    Sun, 10/10/2021 - 4:45pm

    Hundreds of people headed for Boothbay Railway Village Museum Saturday, Oct. 9 and Sunday, Oct. 10 for the 53rd Fall Foliage Festival.

  • Seahawks Homecoming 2021

    Fri, 10/08/2021 - 11:00am

    The weather was just right for the traditional Boothbay Region High School Homecoming Parade and bonfire on Thursday, Oct. 7.

  • Family Harvest Day enjoyed by many

    Mon, 10/04/2021 - 11:15am

    Boothbay Railway Museum’s Family Harvest Day dawned a bit overcast, but families still came out to celebrate the arrival of autumn and spend some time together.

  • BRES field hockey team defeats Oceanside

    Thu, 09/30/2021 - 6:30pm

    In the school’s first field hockey game since 2019 due to the pandemic and precautionary cancellations, Boothbay Region Elementary School defeated Oceanside Middle School, 4-0, in Thomaston Tuesday

  • Seahawks, Wolverines dominate at Sept. 17 home meet

    Mon, 09/20/2021 - 7:15pm

    The Boothbay Region High School Seahawks and Wiscasset Middle High School combined boys and girls teams hosted and won this season’s only home meet in Boothbay Harbor Sept. 17.

  • Fall blooming at the Gardens

    Mon, 09/20/2021 - 10:45am

    Contributing photographer Martin Grassie of Brunswick has blessed us again with his photos.

  • Business After Hours at Smuggler’s Cove Inn

    Fri, 09/17/2021 - 11:15am

    A wonderful time was had by all at the Boothbay Harbor Chamber of Commerce Business After-Hours and Ribbon Cutting held at Smuggler’s Cove Inn, East Boothbay, on Aug. 25.

  • Memories of post-9/11 ceremonies

    Fri, 09/10/2021 - 8:45am

    Communities across the country gathered to remember, pray and celebrate freedom after the attacks on the U.S. on Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2001.

  • September First Friday in Boothbay Harbor

    Mon, 09/06/2021 - 4:30pm

    This month’s First Friday Art Tour in Boothbay Harbor was held Sept. 3.

  • Movie night at Newagen Seaside Inn

    Fri, 09/03/2021 - 10:15am

    On Thursday, Aug. 26, dozens of people enjoyed the free movie night on the inflatable screen at Newagen Seaside Inn on Southport Island.

  • A visit to the ‘Hundred Acre Wood’ with Y Arts

    Mon, 08/30/2021 - 12:30pm

    The Y Arts Itty Bitty Broadway Performers made their debut Aug. 27 in a production of “Winnie the Pooh” in the Boothbay Region YMCA gym. Fifty or so family and friends were in the audience.

  • Movie night with ‘Shrek’ on the water

    Thu, 08/26/2021 - 2:15pm

    The outdoor “boatin” at Linkein Bay Resort Aug. 25 drew quite a “flotilla” for the screening of “Shrek” and a classic Looney Tunes cartoon.

  • Wildlife in August

    Wed, 08/25/2021 - 12:15pm

    Southport photographer Stephanie Morrison captured these photos of wildlife in the Midcoast region during the month of August.

  • ‘Shrek Jr.’ makes ’em laugh!

    Mon, 08/23/2021 - 11:45am

    The Boothbay Region Y Arts group entertained good crowds at it two-performance (2 and 5 p.m.) production of “Shrek Jr. The Musical” on Saturday, Aug. 21.

  • Mushrooms!

    Thu, 08/19/2021 - 10:15am

    Mushrooms have captured the attention of Southport photographer Stephanie Morrison this summer and here she shares some of her favorite pictures of a variety of the wild fungi.

  • Rowgatta’s 28th brings out record numbers

    Tue, 08/17/2021 - 7:30am

    The 28th annual Boothbay Region YMCA Rowgatta drew 51 boats and 56 paddlers to Knickercane Landing on Barters Island to raise nearly $2,500 in support of free swim lessons for all local second grad

  • Y teen ensemble performs ‘Children of Eden JR’

    Mon, 08/16/2021 - 8:00pm

    “Children of Eden JR,” a musical written by lyricist and composer Stephen Schwartz (“Godspell,” “Wicked”) was performed brilliantly by the Boothbay Region Y Arts Encore Teen Ensemble in the Y gym o