Midcoast Symphony Orchestra

Journeying through three centuries of classical music

March concerts include a piece by Jessie Montgomery, recent winner of the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Classical Composition.

Event has passed

The Midcoast Symphony Orchestra (MSO), conducted by Rohan Smith, continues its 34th concert season with a concert entitled “A New Artistic Mélange'' that will be performed at the Franco Center in Lewiston on Saturday, March 23 at 7 p.m. and at the Orion Performing Arts Center in Topsham on Sunday, March 24 at 2:30 p.m. The program at both concerts consists of three pieces from different centuries showcasing the evolution of classical music through the years.

Beginning with Jessie Montgomery’s “Hymn for Everyone,” the concerts continue with Mozart’s “Prague Symphony No. 38,” and conclude with “Enigma Variations,” by Edward Elgar. Both concerts will be conducted by guest artist Jinwook Park, a member of the Colby College faculty and the Music Director of the Colby Symphony Orchestra and the Augusta Symphony Orchestra.

Park is a conductor and violinist who enjoys a versatile career as a music director, performer, and educator. He is the founder and the music director of Haffner Sinfonietta, and the former music director of Philharmonia Boston. When asked about this concert’s program, he stated “Elgar's Enigma variation and Mozart's Symphony No.38 are my favorite pieces, and I always want to conduct them. This is my first time conducting "Hymn for Everyone" by Jessie Montgomery. She is an acclaimed American composer, violinist, and educator, so studying her musical works will be a good opportunity.” 

“A New Artistic Mélange” continues a year-long celebration of the 20th season of long-time MSO Music Director Rohan Smith. The concert begins with "A Hymn for Everyone,"  a poignant reflection on the effects of the COVID pandemic by Jessie Montgomery, a recent winner of the 2024 Grammy for best contemporary classical composition for another work of hers.  The MSO is looking forward to sharing another piece by this well-known American violinist, composer and educator after having previously played “Banner” in 2021.  The second work in the program is Mozart’s “Symphony No. 38,” often called the “Prague” symphony after the city in which it was first performed in 1787. Many audience members will recognize this strikingly innovative piece by one of music's most revered composers. The finale of the concert is "Enigma Variations,"  14 musical sketches by Edward Elgar reflecting a myriad of personalities in the composer's life at the end of the 19th century. 

Complete concert and ticket information is available at midcoastsymphony.org. Individual tickets are $25 in advance and $30 at the door. All concert tickets are free for students ages 18 and under, or for college students with ID. Audiences are encouraged to purchase tickets in advance online or by calling the box office at (207) 481-0790.





Event Date: 

Sat, 03/23/2024 - 7:00pm