BRHS Mountain Valley Conference all stars

Chapman wins POY award again

Tue, 06/11/2024 - 10:00am

Seahawk junior Laura Chapman won her third straight Player of the Year award on a vote by league girls tennis coaches as the Mountain Valley Conference announced its spring sports awards this week.

Chapman, who continued her career unbeaten streak in the conference this season, was also named to the 2024 first-team all star team.

Two of her teammates, Hanna Kreft and Sarah Kreft, received honorable mention as all stars. Sarah Kreft was also on the all-academic team.

Other Boothbay Region High School spring sports athletes honored by their MVC coaches included the following:

Boys tennis: First-team all stars Cleyton Splaine and Griffin Yereance; second-team all stars Andrew Fowlie and Rodi Mayne; honorable mention all stars Neal Baldwin and Cole Hyson. Mayne was also on the all-academic team.

Girls track: First-team all stars Abbie Clark, Julia Truesdell, Karen Higgins and Maddie Orchard; second-team all stars Maddie Orchard and Rose Campbell; honorable mention all stars Karen Higgins and Olivia Rittall.

Boys track: Second-team all star Ross Gaffney; honorable mention all star AJ Crocker.

Baseball: Honorable mention all stars Liam Thomas and Finn Harkins. Harkins and Robert Shaw were also on the all-academic team.