Chamber members select finalists for Community Awards

Wed, 05/08/2019 - 8:00am

The Boothbay Harbor Region Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the 57th annual Community Awards finalists in each category. The Community Awards Survey was mailed to Chamber members and community members were also encouraged to submit their nominations for each category.  The nominees were then voted on by the membership of the Chamber.

This year the Chamber added two new awards, the Tourism and Hospitality Business of the Year Award and the Young Professional of the Year Award. The five categories now include: Business of the Year Award, Tourism and Hospitality Business of the Year Award, Most Notable Non-Profit Award, Young Professional Award and Citizen of the Year Award. There will also be a special “Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award.”

The annual Community Awards is an opportunity for Chamber members to select the individuals and businesses that make a significant contribution to the economic development and quality of life we enjoy here in our region.

The winners will be announced at the Chamber’s Annual Community Awards Dinner and Meeting to be held on Wednesday, May 29 at Fisherman’s Wharf Inn from 5-8 p.m. Tickets are $45 for members and $50 for non-members. Tickets may be purchased online through the Chamber’s website at: Annual Dinner. Limited seating is available so please purchase your tickets early.

The evening includes a social hour with cash bar followed by a sit down dinner and dessert. We are delighted to welcome our featured speaker, Governor Janet Mills.

The Chamber would like to thank the following sponsors of the Annual Community Awards Dinner Cellardoor Winery and Fisherman’s Wharf Inn. Program Sponsorships are still available and silent auction item donations by contacting at the Chamber at 207-633-2353.

Below are the top finalists in each category.  

Business of the Year Award

1. Pinkham’s Seafood

2. Boothbay Harbor Country Club

3. Brady’s

Tourism and Hospitality Business of the Year Award

1. Topside Inn

2. Lafayette Hotels

3. Brady’s

4. Coastal Maine Botanical Gardens

Most Notable Non-Profit Award

1. Opera House

2. Boothbay Region Community Resources Council

3. Rebuilding Together

4. Boothbay Region Land Trust

Young Professional of the Year Award

1. Cody Mitchell

2. Michelle Amero

3. Shannon Schmelzer

4. Anya Reid

Citizen of the Year Award

1. Officer Larry Brown

2. Paul Coulombe

3. Laura Honey

4. Giannoula Rigas

For more information or to purchase tickets for the annual Community Awards Dinner, call the Chamber at 633-2353.