Winslow wins Classic, Bangor wins Rotary tourney

Mon, 03/11/2019 - 6:45pm

Winslow defeated Lincoln, 62-39, to win the boys 2019 junior high Boothbay Region YMCA Basketball Classic on March 3.

Lincoln advanced to the championship game with a 46-44 win over third-place finisher Medomak.

Winslow, with tournament MVP Andrew Poulin scoring 30 points, had sent Lincoln to the losers' bracket in game 11 of the 14-game tournament with a 65-51 win. Medomak advanced to the third-place game with a 56-51 win over Oceanside.

Boothbay, the host team, lost to Lincoln, defeated Five Towns, then got eliminated from the double-elimination tournament by Oceanside.

The all-tournament team included: Kayden Ames, Conner Wenners and Griffin Krystan of Boothbay; Hayden Jacques, Zeke Miller and Jack Elwell of Oceanside; Blake Morrison and Kevin Sincyr of Medomak; Jake Masters, Jack Duncan and Tucker Stiles of Lincoln; Jason Reynolds and Andrew Poulin of Winslow; Owen Smith of Lisbon and Isaiah Meklin of the Mariners.

Rotary Tournament

In the 2019 girls junior high Rotary Tournament, also played the first weekend in March, Bangor defeated Oceanside, 43-22, in the championship game of the eight-team, double-elimination tournament.

Oceanside defeated third-place Augusta, 44-41, to advance against Bangor.

Bangor defeated Oceanside 47-29, in its opening game, defeated Georges River, 50-15 in its second game, and advanced to the championship game with a 37-20 win over Augusta.

Boothbay did not have a team competing in the tournament. Other teams competing included Camden and Maranacook.

Tournament MVP was Oceanside Audrey Mackie. She was joined on the all-tournament team by Natalie Kaler of Lincoln; Rose Jenkins of Maranacook, Ella Graffam of Camden, Caitlyn Lamb of Georges River, Maya Cannon of Medomak, Abby Waterman of Oceanside, Charlotte Harper-Cunningham and Amanda Trepanier of Augusta, and Abbie Quinn, Cassidy Ireland and Emilyn Streams of Bangor.