Eight take out papers for Boothbay Harbor seats, two returned

Fri, 02/19/2021 - 10:30am

    Boothbay Harbor Town Clerk Michelle Farnham told the Boothbay Register Feb. 17 two residents have submitted nomination papers for the Sewer District trustees seat, one of seven town office seats up for grabs this year. The seats are: one special election for a one-year term on the select board and three-year terms for select board, Boothbay-Boothbay Harbor Community School District School Committee, CSD trustees, Boothbay Region Water District trustees (at-large), BB-BBH Cemetery District trustees and the BHSD trustees.

    Jim Stormont and Jay D. Warren submitted their 25-plus signatures for the BHSD seat and will appear on a May 7 ballot separate from the town elections ballot. Stormont is the incumbent and has served on the board since 2018. Warren currently serves on the Cemetery District trustees and the Boothbay Region Refuse Disposal District Board of Directors.

    Farnham also said several have taken out papers, but have yet to return them. Harbor natives Alyssa Allen and Devyn Campbell took out papers for the one-year term on the select board; Harbor business owner and resident Ken Rayle for the three-year term; Cemetery District incumbent Isabelle Lewis; and CSD Board of Trustees incumbent and Chair Steve Lorrain and James Crane for the CSD Board of Trustees. So far, none have taken out papers for the CSD School Committee, currently occupied by incumbent and Chair Stephanie Hawke, or the BRWD at-large position, currently held by East Boothbay resident Nell Tharpe.

    Nomination papers are available by appointment only, require 25-100 signatures to qualify for the ballot and are due March 8. Call 633-3671. Elections will be held May 7 and the annual town meeting on May 8.