Chamber’s 56th annual Community Awards winners announced

Posted:  Friday, June 1, 2018 - 2:30pm

Over 140 people turned out to celebrate the nominees and the award winners of the Boothbay Harbor Region Chamber of Commerce’s 56th annual Community Awards held on Tuesday, May 29 at Spruce Point Inn.

The evening theme centered around the importance of “Community” — for the nominees, the award recipients, Chamber Director Patricia Royall, keynote speaker, Yellow Light Breen and Senator Angus King. Each award recipient had an opportunity to speak and share their thoughts and feeling about living and working in the Boothbay Harbor region. The common message: “ It’s the people, the natural beauty of the region, and the sense of community.”

Executive Director Patricia Royall  announced the Chamber has been shifting a portion of its focus on economic development issues facing the region, such as workforce development, adult and vocational education, affordable housing and regional transportation. The Chamber has spearheaded several of these initiatives and is collaborating with business leaders and community organizations such as BRCRC, Rotary Club, LincolnHealth and the JEDC to help move some of these initiatives forward.

The evening’s keynote speaker, Yellow Light Breen, noted: “Geography is not destiny. There are many regions in Maine that would kill to have the challenges and opportunities facing the Boothbay region rather their own! Growth is not a dirty word – in fact, the only way to preserve what we most value in a changing world is to evolve and change, to grow both deeper roots and wider branches. But you can only seize those opportunities if you appreciate and build on your assets and mobilize a diverse set of leaders who will come together with civility to persist in a common direction for a long period of time. Leadership is not only a big thing, it’s almost everything!”

He encouraged the community to “stay focused on investing in your people. Our number one challenge statewide and in the region is the workforce – both attracting enough people and having the right skills and education, and on innovation even while building on our strong historical assets and natural environment, and on the vital importance to making headway on those issues, of effective leadership, strong community, and a commitment to civility.”

Senator King spoke about how much he admired Senator John McCain and encouraged attendees to watch the new documentary – John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls.” The message of the documentary is “bi-partisanship” something Senator McCain feels is something of a failing art form but also resonates in communities where working together is so critical to positive outcomes and forward movement.

King was on hand to pass out the Community Awards to each winner, which were as follows:

Small Business of the Year Award – Eventide Epicurean Specialties

Large Business of the Year Award – Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences

Most Notable Non-Profit – Boothbay Region Community Resources Council

Community Service & Improvement Award – The Community Center

Excellence in Entrepreneurship – The Thistle Inn

Citizen of the Year Award – Holly Stover

Lifetime Achievement Award – Chief Bob Hasch

The Chamber congratulates and thanks all the nominees and award winners for this year’s Community Awards. These individuals and businesses go above and beyond in selfless generosity and service to others and make our Community and the Boothbay Harbor region such a special place to live.

Thank you to the sponsors of this year’s Community Awards: Spruce Point Inn, LCI Fiber Optics, First Federal Savings, Perry, Fitts, Boulette and Fitton, CPA’s; St. Andrews Village, Baystate Financial, Boothbay Region Greenhouses and Servpro.

The mission of the Boothbay Harbor Region Chamber of Commerce is to promote a positive business climate, by focusing on advocacy, access and leadership. For more information or to become a member call 207-633-2353.