Chamber honors 32nd annual Harbor Lights Festival volunteers, businesses and winners

Tue, 12/05/2017 - 11:30am

    The Boothbay Harbor Region Chamber of Commerce would like to thank all the volunteers, businesses, nonprofit organizations and participants that came together to help make our 32nd annual Harbor Lights Festival on Dec. 2 a tremendous success. Our heartfelt thanks to the town of Boothbay Harbor, the Boothbay Harbor Police Department, both the Boothbay and Boothbay Harbor Fire Departments and the U.S. Coast Guard for their collective support in helping the Chamber present another memorable Harbor Lights Festival.

    This year the Chamber presented “Laptime with Santa” at the Boothbay Harbor Memorial Library where kids of all ages had the special honor of meeting Santa and Mrs. Claus. Our deepest thanks go to Evelyn Andrews and Hannaford for donating the delicious hot chocolate and cookies, candy canes and supplies that were much appreciated on a cold day.

    Special thanks to Lisa Walby for organizing such a wonderful memorable festival this year Thank you to Santa, Mrs. Claus, our hardworking elves and the team of holiday mascots, including the Three Wisemen, for their collective presence in downtown Boothbay Harbor. A special thanks to Paulette Carter who has created the most incredible elf costumes! Special thanks also go to Sherman’s bookstore, Boothbay Harbor Memorial Library, Neil Blake, Blake’s Marine, Boothbay Region Garden Club, The Opera House, Ramsey Lafayette, Tugboat Inn, Ralph Smith, Newagen Seaside Inn, Linekin Bay Resort, Jared and Kathrine Norcott and Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church.

    One of the major attractions of the Harbors Lights Festival is the Lighted Boat Parade. The Chamber would like to express its sincere appreciation to all the boat captains and their crew for presenting such a wonderful light display on the water. Two volunteers who need to be recognized for coordinating this effort are Alan and Judy Boyes of Pagen Moon, the only sailboat in the parade.

    The winners of this year’s Lighted Boat Parade are: First Place: Casey Anne, Captain Eben Court; Second Place, Shoals Run, Captain Andrew Hallinan; and Third Place, Sea Foam, Captain Rusty Brewer. Captains who participated in the Lighted Boat Parade and didn’t receive a gas card, please come by the Chamber to pick yours up.

    Winners of the Window Decorating Contest are as follows: First Place, Boothbay Region Greenhouses; tie for Second Place went to Grover’s Hardware and A Silver Lining. The Tugboat Inn won the Light the Shore Contest.