BRHS Class of 2018 Awards

Posted:  Sunday, June 10, 2018 - 1:30pm

The Boothbay Region High School Class of 2018 spent the eve of graduation accepting awards and scholarships toward university, technical college and other adventures beyond the walls of the school they have come to know so well.  Connor Demmons served as the Class Marshal guiding his fellow graduates to and from the stage. Guidance Officer Brooke Newberg introduced speakers throughout the evening starting with Principal Dan Welch who handed out awards to all honors students. 

Faculty including Emily Higgins, Mark Gorey, Manon Lewis and Normand L’Heureux  handed out academic awards. Community members including Maine State House Rep. Stephanie Hawke handed out scholarships and community awards to students facing promising educational and professional futures in specific fields. With the help of Welch and Newberg, District Librarian Jo Haney handed out over 70 books to freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors alike. The books were gifted to those exhibiting interest and aptitude for certain subjects. The school library will be receiving second copies to add to its shelves.

Awards and Scholarships for Class of 2018

Cameron Alley: Early College for ME

Kyle Ames: Boosters Club Award, BRHS Seahawk Spirit and Citizenship Award

Hunter Arsenault: Early College for ME, G&G Towing and Quick Service Scholarship, Maine Blue Collar Scholarship Foundation

Hayden Brewer: Issac Giles VFW Memorial Scholarship

Jacob Brewer: Arthur S. Bryant Fund, Seaside Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Page Brown: Salutatorian, Boothbay Region Education Association, FAME Educators For Maine Program Award

Annie Bryer: Wiscasset Ford-Rene Nicol Scholarship Fund

Graham Bryer: Boothbay Region Arts Foundation Scholarship

Evy Case: Congregational Church Scholarship

Summer Chamberlin: Valedictorian, Mitchell Institute Scholarship

Cameron Crocker: Clinton Barlow Award

Isabelle Curtis: Sophie McKown Scholarship

Connor Demmons: Jonathan and Linda Chorney Scholarship

Tyler Field: Seaside Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Madison Gaudette: St. Andrews Auxiliary Scholarship, Authur S. Bryant Fund Scholarship, Bayview Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Nathaniel Graves: Fishermen's Festival Memorial Scholarship

Hailey Greenleaf: Boothbay Farmers Market Scholarship

Elijah Gudroe: Seaside Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Elizabeth Ham: Bayview Masonic Lodge Scholarship, Mid Coast Hospital Auxiliary-Herb Paris Health Career Scholarship, The Mildred H. McEvoy Foundation Scholarship at Thomas College

Brooke Harmon: Boothbay Region Arts Foundation Scholarship

Jay Hasch: U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award

ReAnna Heino: Seaside Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Max Hoecker: Jonathan and Linda Chorney Scholarship

Courtney Lewis: Early College for ME

Kayla Lewis: Boothbay Farmers Market Scholarship

Tayla Lewis: Beacon Chapter #202 Scholarship

Madeleine McLellan: University of Maine Farmington Academic Excellence Award, Lincoln County Retired Teachers Group Scholarship, Eric Jorgenson Memorial Scholarship

Jacklyn McLoon: American Legion Auxiliary Dirigo Girls State Scholarship, U.S. Marine Corps Semper Fidelis for Musical Excellence, Sheepscot Choral Arts Scholarship

Sydney Meader: Boosters Club Award, Bath Savings Institution Scholarship

Sydney Mercier: U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 25 Scholarship

Kylie Michael: Bigelow Laboratory Scholarship

Sierra Murray: Seaside Masonic Lodge Scholarship

Emma Pearce: Bayview Masonic Lodge Scholarship, First Federal Savings Bank Scholarship

JoAnna Shaw: Arthur S. Bryant Fund Scholarship, Fishermen’s Festival Memorial Scholarship, Charles Baker Memorial Scholarship

Lillian Sherburne: Prudential Spirit of Community Award, Boothbay Region Rotary Club Scholarship, Helen Weston Scholarship, DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) Scholarship

Nicholas Simpson: MELMAC Tyler/Grandmaison Principal's Scholarship

Denise Stover: U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award

Book Awards for Class of 2019

Lilley Harris: Yale Book Award, Williams Book Award, Harvard Book Award

Olivia Paolillo: Dartmouth Book Award

Faith Blethen: Wellesley Book Award, College of the Atlantic Book Award

Bayly Gaughan- Carrasco: Phi Beta Kappa Association of Maine

William LaBrecque: St. Michael's Book Award

Riley Sullivan: St. Michael's Book Award

Emma Hodgdon: St. Thomas Book Award