Y Dolphins hold end of year awards

Sun, 06/06/2021 - 10:00am

The Boothbay Region YMCA Dolphin swim team coaches dished out ice cream and toppings before handing out their end-of-the-season awards outside at Camp Knickerbocker in Boothbay on Friday, June 4. About 70 swimmers, parents and other guests attended.

Coaches Zach Gray, Mike Hills and Heather Hills thanked the many volunteer supporters of the 2020-2021 team during the challenging season, which consisted of just virtual meets due to the pandemic. Event times were recorded and sent to the state Y for tabulating. The parents and swimmers gave the coaches a resounding cheer for their work this season and, at the conclusion of the ceremony, graduating seniors Graham Harris and Maren Whitney presented gifts to the coaches.

Gray began by reviewing the state meet and introducing the swimmers who were top 8 finishers at the meet held in April. They were Kameron Fowlie (8 and under boys) who took two fourth places and a fifth; Edie Dubrowski (8 and under girls) who took a fourth and fifth place; Jackie Branch (8 and under girls) who took a seventh place; Miles Murray (boys 9-10) who took a third, seventh and eighth place; Julia Deliso (boys 11-12) who took a fourth and fifth place; Alex Hughts (boys 9-10) who took a sixth and eighth place; and Beatrix Recoing-Tallen (girls 11-12) who took an eighth place.

Thirty-one Dolphins competed in the state meet and the team netted 14 top 8 finishes, earned 26 ninth through 16th place ribbons, registered 49 best times and scored 283 points. The boys placed 11th and the girls 10th for a combined 11th place finish. 

The following special awards were then presented by the coaches in the various age groups:

The MVP award is presented to swimmers who scored the most points in any scoring competition during the season. Receiving the awards were Austin Chryplewicz (8 and under); Edie Dubrowski (8 and under); Alex Hughes (9 and 10); Allyson Smart (9 and 10); Camden Peck (11 and 12); Trey Tibbetts (11and 12); Hannah Hills (13+) and Marlowe Recoing-Tallen (13+).

Most Improved goes to the swimmer who has improved the most over the year. This could be developing skills, competing in new events and/or improving in time. Receiving the awards were William Lassen (8 and under), Jackie Branch (8 and under); Arabella Hodgdon (9 and 10); Miles Murray (9 and 10); Beatrix Recoing-Tallen (11 and 12); Julian Deliso (11 and 12); Hannah Erickson (13+); and Rath Schoenthal (13+).

The Dolphin Award goes to swimmers who best exemplify what it means to be a Dolphin swimmer. These swimmers consistently demonstrate the four core values of Caring, Respect, Honesty and Responsibility. These swimmers are dedicated and work hard in both the wet and dry side of any team activity. These awards were presented to Kayla Watts (8 and under); Kameron Fowlie (8 and under); Olivia Carlson (9 and 10) Byran Hills (9 and 10); Ella Watts (11 and 12); Trey Tibbetts (11 and 12); Ella Beauregard (13+); and Andrew Fowlie (13+).

The Hills' Service Award is given for years of service, dedication and volunteerism for the team. This person demonstrates an unselfish sense of service to the continued excellence of the swim program. This person goes above and beyond the role of most volunteers. Receiving this award were Dan Phelps (timing) and Jen Whitney (official).

The Leadership Award goes to a swimmer who willingly demonstrates leadership qualities through personal sacrifice, loyalty and dedication for the improvement of themselves and fellow swimmers. Their strong will to succeed is pushed by desire to help others better themselves both in and out of the pool. Receiving this award was Hannah Hills.

This year’s team officials were Jen Whitney, Robert Watts, Adam Smart, Dan Parrot, Henry Hurford and Scott Yeomans. Meet staff included HyTek/Meet software operators Sara Watts and Dan Phelps. Head timer was Bruce Harris and parents, family members and friends served as lane timers.