Boothbay Selectmen

Selectmen appoint new planning board members

Thu, 09/26/2013 - 7:00pm

    The Boothbay Board of Selectmen have appointed four new candidates to the planning board.

    The selectmen appointed Rosemary Bourette, Andrew Morley, Linda Wilcox and Chris Malloy to fill the four vacancies on the seven-member board.

    The planning board is made up of five full-time members and two alternate members. Wilcox and Malloy were appointed to full-time positions for three year terms, and Bourette and Morley were appointed as alternates. The alternates attend meetings in the absence of the full-time members.

    In the past three months, the planning board has been shorthanded. Nancy Cunningham, the former chairman, and Michael Pander, the former vice chairman, were voted out by the selectmen in July. Members Jeanne Fuller and Nell Tharpe resigned in August and September respectively, both citing time commitment issues.

    There were six applicants interviewed earlier this month by two current planning board members, two selectmen and the town manager. The panel met in executive session on September 25 to recommend four candidates to the selectmen.

    The new members will join Alan Bellows, Fran McBrearty and Mike Tomacelli for the board's regular meetings scheduled at 6 p.m. every third Wednesday of the month at the Boothbay Town Office.