Announcing the ‘Great Boothbay Region Road Rally’

Are you ready to get out of the house and have some fun? Would you like to see parts of our beautiful region that you may have never explored? How about discovering some fun facts that you never knew about this historic area? And best of all, it won’t cost you anything but the gas in your car tank.

The Congregational Church of Boothbay Harbor is delighted to announce the “Great Boothbay Region Road Rally” to be held from June 29 through July 31. Event organizers Marion Coleman and Lee Corbin have plotted an approximate four-hour route that will take you all around our special area. Unlike traditional road rallies that are timed events, this excursion is more of an exploration/scavenger hunt.

Coleman explains, “We wanted to come up with a fun activity that would not cost anything and get families out of the house. And although we call it a family event, we want everyone to participate so anyone can form a team as long as they all agree they are comfortable isolating in a car together.” Because the event will be held over several weeks, people can pick the pretty day they want to drive the course. That plan also erases concerns about social distancing. The course can easily be split into two, three, or four parts, turning it into a multi-day outing.

Teams will begin the course in the parking lot of the Congregational Church at 125 Townsend Avenue. They will sign out a rally packet they will pick up from the plastic bin located on the church back porch.

Corbin, a former cartographer, explains, “Team members will act as navigators and read the instructions to the driver. No street names are provided, just distances, turn instructions, compass bearings and longitude/latitude coordinates for destinations. We had so much fun plotting the course and identifying the landmarks they have to find. People of all ages are going to love doing it. We discovered so many places we had never noticed and made discoveries that were really exciting.”

All that teams/families need to participate are good walking shoes, masks (for a few of the stops where others may be present), water bottles, bug spray, and a cell phone because they will be asked to take pictures at many stops. Teams will be encouraged to send in their pictures to post on a Rally Facebook page. The Church also plans on providing a treat to teams when they have completed the course and we will be raffling off a few very special items at the end of the event period.

For more details about The Great Boothbay Region Road Rally, please visit the Congo church website www.congochurchbbh.org and click on Road Rally.

 

Event Date: 

Mon, 07/13/2020 - 8:00am
Tue, 07/14/2020 - 8:00am
Wed, 07/15/2020 - 8:00am
Thu, 07/16/2020 - 8:00am
Fri, 07/17/2020 - 8:00am
Sat, 07/18/2020 - 8:00am
Sun, 07/19/2020 - 8:00am
Mon, 07/20/2020 - 8:00am
Tue, 07/21/2020 - 8:00am
Wed, 07/22/2020 - 8:00am
Thu, 07/23/2020 - 8:00am
Fri, 07/24/2020 - 8:00am
Sat, 07/25/2020 - 8:00am
Sun, 07/26/2020 - 8:00am
Mon, 07/27/2020 - 8:00am
Tue, 07/28/2020 - 8:00am
Wed, 07/29/2020 - 8:00am